cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Truck Camper Registration

jtomich4
Explorer
Explorer
Last week during the Mexican gas crisis I crossed the border north bound to buy a used camper while driving my Mexican plated truck. Re-entering Mexico a couple of days later at Del Rio / Acuña I presented my Permanent Resident Card and Legal Mexican Truck Registration. She asked for the camper registration. No such thing, I declared. It isn’t a vehicle and there is no License Plate or Registration. After an hour of rigmarole and purposeless words with several people up the ladder, they instructed me to go back to Texas for a registration and then to the Banjercito for an import permit. All impossible. Once again I repeated that there is no such thing as a camper registration and in any case I can’t get a tourist permit because I’m a permanent resident of Mexico with a Mexican plated vehicle. And I haven’t ever lived in Texas. Whether it’s ignorance or apathy, they don’t seem to know the rules or care to learn. None of it mattered to them. The uniformed inspector whispered in my ear that I could cross without a problem an hour east at Eagle Pass / Piedras Negras. It is calm there, tranquilo, she said. And it was. Looking through my window, the Mexican Border Officer at Piedras Negras asked, Americano? Si, I responded. Asking for no documents, he waved me on with a Buen Viaje.
13 REPLIES 13

jtomich4
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Playa, thanks for offering the new perspective. Seriously. Maybe it was me instead of the border folks being ignorant and stubborn. I can say more things in Spanish than I can hear or understand.

My truck has a Mexican plate on the front, but the rear plate is totally blocked by the camper. Next time I’ll mount the rear plate on the camper in it’s special place, license frame, running lights and all. Maybe that’ll make the camper and the truck one unit.