Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Texas to Washington State

MerryLynn
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,
I'm an RV newbie and have been living in my RV for the past month. I had planned stay in Texas for the winter, but my situation changed and now I'm moving to the coast of Washington State. I'm leaving in late October and taking the trip slow; planning to drive about 300 miles a day for a total of 10 days. I'm towing a 20-foot Rockwood Mini Lite travel trailer with a 2018 Toyota Sequoia.

To avoid the winter weather likely on the most direct route, I plan to take Interstate 40 to California and then head north on Hwy 101.

Can you see any potential problems with this route? Any areas I need to avoid? (Note: I've already removed California's restricted routes from my plan)

Thanks in advance for your help!
Merry
19 REPLIES 19

Roy_Lynne
Explorer
Explorer
From San Antonio we just took I 35 up to I 40 to Gallup and then north, cutting off a corner of Colorado and going into Utah on 191. We mostly just used Google Maps. The weather was cold but the roads were dry. We may have lucked out but we really didn't have any issues. We spent one night in Cortez, one in Moab, we are military so we spent one night at Hill AFB, and our last night we spent in a Motel in Baker Oregon cause it was really cold, but there were RV parks in Pendleton we could have stayed at. If you need anything else just let me know.

MerryLynn
Explorer
Explorer
Roy and Lynne,
I was thinking about this too since the weather forecast seems promising. Can you please be more specific about the route you take through Utah and New Mexico? It all looks easy from the eagle-eye view of Google maps, but I fear picking a route that is steep and tricky.

thanks!

Roy&Lynne wrote: