cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I-80 Poconos area in Pennsylvania...stranded vehicles

DiskDoctr
Explorer
Explorer
They are still stranded for 16+ hours, avoid it if you can.

http://www.wpxi.com/news/top-stories/megabus-heading-to-pittsburgh-stuck-on-interstate-for-over-15-h...

As a PA resident, I apologize for our state's 3rd world country level responses to these kinds of incidents over the past few years on MAJOR HIGHWAYS (including Turnpike).

Previous Governors would have been in a helicopter going to the scene to resolve the issue and push stranded truck off the road.

Not too long ago the Turnpike had similar issues and they wouldn't even move the concrete dividers to allow people to use the other, clear and closed side of the road to escape.

Sorry, warning you is the best I can do from here. Be safe and always carry a winter emergency kit and supplies for at least 24 hrs with you 🙂
18 REPLIES 18

bid_time
Explorer III
Explorer III
DiskDoctr wrote:
rrupert wrote:
The concrete dividers on the turnpike are permanently built and can't be moved, unlike the temporary ones on construction projects.

I've seen them moved and being moved. What the difference is, I wouldn't know 😉
The concrete jersey barriers on The freeway do not move - they are very much permanent. The one used in construction zones can move. The ones in PA are the same as the rest of the US, this is governed by US DOT for all federal aid highways.

DiskDoctr
Explorer
Explorer
rrupert wrote:
The concrete dividers on the turnpike are permanently built and can't be moved, unlike the temporary ones on construction projects.

I've seen them moved and being moved. What the difference is, I wouldn't know 😉

A little preparation for this next round:

http://www.penndot.gov/pages/all-news-details.aspx?newsid=452