cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best route from New Mexico to South Dakota

meandthekitkats
Explorer
Explorer
Hello! I'm a newbie and would like to know the best, flattest, easiest routes from the Las Cruces area of New Mexico up to Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Driving a class A motorhome and will probably be driving in late May or early June.
Thanks for your help!
1999 Fleetwood Bounder
Michigander Newbie!:)
8 REPLIES 8

meandthekitkats
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone! I will head to Amarillo and then north.
Cool beans, thanks for the input.
1999 Fleetwood Bounder
Michigander Newbie!:)

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
If you want to stay off interstates and avoid big cities, your easiest route is US 70 to Clovis and US 60 to Amarillo. We used that route recently and nearly all of it--NM & TX--was 4-lane, so no problem with speeding vehicles getting around our RV.

Then you use any route going north from I-40 and it will be relatively flat.
"Retirement is the best job I ever had!"
2015 RAM 2500 4x4 crewcab 6.7L CTD; 2016 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 5th wheel

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
Agree with the route stickdog suggested. We snowbird in Las Cruces and will be heading to Sioux Falls and points north next month. We generally use I-25 between Denver and Las Cruces and will be using I-80 and US 81 next month.

However, we took a slightly different route in February due to recurring snowstorms. We spent 3 nights in a Caballo Lake SP FHU campsite to wait for the storm to pass. Then we took I-25 to Albuquerque and I-40 to Santa Rosa, where we spent another night. Then US 84 and back onto I-25 to Denver to avoid icy roads in Santa Fe. You shouldn't have worry about snow, however.