Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Brevard County Florida camping fee changes

Bandaid
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

Very quietly, Brevard County Commissioners have restructured the camping fees at our County Park campgrounds. This apparently was due to complaints from county residents of not being able to reserve sites during the winter months, because of the extended stay "snowbirds"
The result was a raising of the basic camping fees by 200% now being $48. per day for a water and electric site. If you want full hookups, or a water view, you pay a premium fee on top of the daily fee!
Also, the length of stay has been dropped from 169 days to 90 days. All in all, this seems a bit excessive and I am a County Resident!. If I am going to have to pay a premium to get a full hookup site, I might as well go to a private campground and have more amenities!

Bandaid
20 REPLIES 20

Scottiemom
Nomad
Nomad
Deb and Ed M wrote:
Scottiemom wrote:
I'm not sure raising the rate 200% is the answer to what they perceived to be a problem. That may just keep local residents from signing up. We used to camp at Wickham park but haven't now for years. It was due to the homeless, the dead bodies (yes, dead bodies) and inconsiderate campers, i.e., loud music, loud and profane yelling, etc. They had no restrictions on campers and one group would tow their motorhomes in because they wouldn't run. They all camped around the bathhouses and basically took them over to where you didn't even feel comfortable using the laundry.

What caused the most problem, in my estimation, was the 5+ months of camping. Rules weren't enforced and too many homeless. The changes they made to address that resulted in removing the habitat for many of the animals which we enjoyed seeing.

Dale