cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Galveston - Bolivar Ferry

dryfly
Explorer
Explorer
I've been riding the Bolivar Ferry for many, many years but have never had my trailer on it. For those that have, is it comfortable to board the ferry pulling a longer travel trailer? Max length allowed is 65' but my trailer/truck combination will only be about 50'. My comfort level is challenged by the tight lanes on the ferry.
7 REPLIES 7

one_strange_tex
Explorer
Explorer
As others have said, the attendants at Bolivar Ferry handle a lot of RV's and will direct you to the right lane or even occasionally pull you over to the side if the boat is almost full so you will have room to board on the next one.
My close calls have been my own extended side mirrors when towing. The lanes are somewhat narrow and the drivers coming into the lanes beside you may not be careful when pulling alongside. Retract the mirrors as soon as you reach your parking spot if you can.
one_strange_texan
Currently between RV's
Former 5th wheel owner (Montana 3402RL)

qtla9111
Nomad
Nomad
As we boarded with our 24ft TT, we dropped the bars on the WDH as we went from the concrete to crossing the ramp.
2005 Dodge Durango Hemi
2008 Funfinder 230DS
Living and Boondocking Mexico Blog

tropical36
Explorer
Explorer
dryfly wrote:
I've been riding the Bolivar Ferry for many, many years but have never had my trailer on it. For those that have, is it comfortable to board the ferry pulling a longer travel trailer? Max length allowed is 65' but my trailer/truck combination will only be about 50'. My comfort level is challenged by the tight lanes on the ferry.

No problem with our 36ft Coach and toad at the time.
Easy on and easy off.
Just couldn't get over it being for free.
"We are often so caught up in our destination that we forget to appreciate the journey."

07 Revolution LE 40E_Spartan MM_06 400HP C9 CAT_Allison 3000.

Dinghy_2010 Jeep Wrangler JKU ISLANDER.