cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bought a fifth wheel that has sat most of its life

MetalGrand
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I bought a 2001 Terry EXL 305G from the original owner that has used it to live in seasonally. I inspected everything and its really clean and maintained.

It literally was bought in 2000 and towed to his land and sat there for about 16 years, then he put new tires on it and moved it to his new house in 2016 and has sat since I bought it and towed it home.

What is everything I need to look at since it has extremely low towing miles on it?

Thanks
2001 Terry EXL 305G
2018 RAM 2500 6.4l 4x4
13 REPLIES 13

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
Lots of opinions on tires, especially on these forums. Towmax is a name you often hear, some like them, some call them blowmax. I have no experience with them. If you want my opinion, I'd run them for the couple short trips, look them over closely, before the May trip. If piece of mind is more important than $$$, I'd just replace asap with Provider STs, or GoodYear Endurance, which are designed to run cooler, stay together at higher speeds, like when towing 70 mph, with a nice new Ram.

Hope you enjoy your new to you rig!

Jerry

richclover
Explorer
Explorer
MetalGrand wrote:
MFL wrote:
The outer face of the tread is not as important as the condition of the tire between the tread. However, a tire sitting on the ground for 2-3 years, without moving, can be an issue. Tire quality can also make a difference, as there are many cheap trailer tires, that don't last long, even when they are used on a regular basis. I'd watch them closely, if just using for shorter trips. If heading out on a cross country trip, I would consider replacement.

Jerry

I plan on doing two very short trips (around 60 miles round trip) in the next 1-2 months and then a 260 mile (round trip) in May. Would you trust these tires to do the job? They are ST235/85R16 Towmax STR's.

You could install a TPMS.
Rich