cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

winterized properly?

stargirl96
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a newbie with my Jayco Greyhawk so I have a basic question. I took my Greyhawk to a reputable RV repair shop to be winterized. Later I noticed the only sign of antifreeze was in the toilet. The bathroom and kitchen sink seem to be as they were when I dropped it off--hand soap in the sinks with no sign of antifreeze. I opened one of the lowpoint drains a little and water came out with possibly some antifreeze in it. I thought the fresh water tank was completely emptied in the winterization process. Should I go back to the rv repair shop? They charged me $130.
6 REPLIES 6

bobndot
Explorer II
Explorer II
...the FW tank has its own drain.

Many of the new units are plumbed so the low point cold also drains the FW tank.
I only know this because mine is a 2018 and noticed that the cold line was plumbed this way.
Many other new units are plumbed the same way. It empties a lot faster, larger hose.

To the OP,
I opened one of the low point drains a little and water came out with possibly some antifreeze in it.

Some water came out because the dealer probably did not use compressed air to blow out the lines before they added the antifreeze. They probably skipped that step and just started adding antifreeze thru the system, allowing it to mix with water which dilutes the antifreeze. That might only be an issue if it gets really cold.
Using compressed air blown thru the system gets rid of most all residual water left in the lines after the low points gravity drain the system. This compressed air step allows the antifreeze to be the most pure undiluted protection.
You actually could drain the antifreeze back out at this point because the system is now protected and will remain so because you evacuated it of all its water, there would nothing to freeze in an empty line.