cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Montreal QC

pops49
Explorer
Explorer
Leaving for a cross country haul in May of this year Heading all the way to the West Coast and Alaska.
Our first hurdle to me anyway ,is getting through or around the City of Montreal I would rather not get ensnarled in traffic as I am a newbie at this trailer hauling .
Any help on routes (#) to avoid the worst of this traffic would be greatly appreciated.
pops
7 REPLIES 7

daveB110
Explorer
Explorer
You will have your own preferences as to where you want to travel of course, but for ourselves, just visiting the Montreal area for a few days in 2009, after a winter in Mexico, and going back to B.C. the first of April with no inkling to visit Toronto, and seeing no other RVs on the road, we headed towards Ottawa, by-passed it (leaving it for a later visit) and traveled Hwy 17. It's a long way across Ontario but this shortens it a little. Stuck in Thunder Bay by a 40 cm snowfall, delayed us a couple of days. May will be better! Living on the south coast of B.C. we never realised just how long winters can last, especially in Quebec.

daveB110
Explorer
Explorer
No need to sweat over the bad Montreal traffic, which I've seen. But with a big unit you do not want to venture in the wrong direction. Packer Backer defines the best route avoiding snarled traffic. We did this in 2014. Our biggest concern was fueling up, heading through PQ to the Maritimes. One stop we made had three gas stations, but we could get fueled up at none of them, just kept looking.

pops49
Explorer
Explorer
Great ,thanks for the info I will map it out . Looking forward to getting on the road.
pops

John_Betty
Explorer
Explorer
PackerBacker wrote:
To bypass the city, use highway 20 from Quebec City, then onto highway 30 west which leads west of Montreal. There is a small bridge toll before getting back onto the 20 west.
You can the get onto either highway 401 or 417.