cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Kidde Extinguisher recall

kerrlakeRoo
Explorer
Explorer
Have to give Kidde credit, I contacted them about the recall with information on 2 units I had on 11/11. Replacements arrived today. And the two units they replaced were 11 and 13 years old.
Better service from them on this issue than most companies you deal with on paid orders.
21 REPLIES 21

LJAZ
Explorer
Explorer
One of my replacements arrived Friday so that was 2 weeks. Still waiting on the other.
Shipping time may depend on what part of the country you're in and what model extinguisher you have.
Have to admit Kidde is doing a pretty good with this, especially when you consider that close to 4 million extinguishers are subject to the recall.
2011 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab 4X4
2009 Funfinder 210 WBS
Prodigy P3

cbshoestring
Explorer
Explorer
cbshoestring wrote:
This is my first time hearing about the Recall. I will check my fire extinguishers when I get home.

Thanks for the PSA.

Yes. I just quoted myself.

Brought the extinguisher in the house when I got home today (it's cold OUT THERE). KIDDIE said I should get a replacement within 15-20 days.

Thanks again for the PSA. I Hope others will read it as well.

A faulty extinguisher is probably worse than having none. At least with none, I wouldn't be wasting time wondering why it isn't working.

docsouce
Explorer II
Explorer II
I notified them on Nov 3 and Fed X delivered all 5 that I listed yesterday (Nov 18). Pretty fast considering the volume of claims they must be dealing with. I'll pack the returns today and get them out of the way tomorrow.
2020 JAYCO 26XD
Just right for the two of us!

Dtank
Explorer
Explorer
mike-s wrote:
Had a bad one rated 1-A,10-BC. They sent a replacement rated 5-BC. Huh?

A 1-A rated extinguisher is a joke.

Extinguishers with plastic parts were always a (Kidde) joke.

Surprised Kidde didn't send you a bucket of sand.

๐Ÿ˜ž

RAS43
Explorer III
Explorer III