cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Class C - with ability to tow

upmm019
Explorer
Explorer
Exploring doing a year-long RV adventure and was hoping to get some advice on a Class C.

It would be myself/wife/two medium sized dogs and our Jeep Grand Cherokee.

So I need something that will not break the bank but will give us room and ability to tow. I have no RV experience - once had a travel trailer but that was the extent. I have never driven a large RV.

Looking to explore the southwest during winter and northern parts off-winter.

I still work (telecommunte) so most likely staying at places weeks at a time. So also curious to know if there is a website/forum, etc that points out some of the great places to stay with good wifi/amenities etc

Thx -
14 REPLIES 14

Mich_F
Explorer
Explorer
rjstractor wrote:
theoldwizard1 wrote:
Class C would be marginal for towing your car. Super C or Class A.

Forget the bank account !

Please define "marginal". The E450 can tow a 5000 lb Jeep with a significant margin in GCWR. GVWR is not a factor when flat towing since there is virtually no tongue weight.

For years Ford has had a 14,500# GVWR and a 22,000 GCWR for the E 450. That gives a tow rating of 7,500 #. They also have 22,000, 24,000 and 26,000 GVWRs and 26,000, 30,000 and 30,000# GCWRs for their F53 chassis. That gives tow ratings of 4,000, 6,000 and 4,000#, for what has been the most used chassis for gas class A motorhomes for many years. Many people still say a class A can tow more that a class C ?
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K Class C
2016 Mazda CX5 on Acme tow dolly- 4 trips ~ 5,800 mi
Now 2017 RWD F150 with a drive shaft disconnect

Hank85713
Explorer
Explorer