cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ontario: Motorhome yellow sticker exemption?

PrivatePilot
Explorer
Explorer
I’m having a debate with somebody online elsewhere right now with regards to their ability to use a full on class 8 tractor for recreational purposes completely exempt of all CVOR/daily inspections/annual inspections (yellow sticker) because they claim to be using the “Motorhome” exemption.

Now, I know such exemptions exist for true motorhomes, however I was pretty sure that there was wording specifically with the MTO that required anything claiming to be exempt to have static plumbing systems including a toilet with a holding tank, etc to be considered eligible.

I know this fellow is using it for recreational purposes (so he claims), but it appears to be a pretty standard class 8 tractor to me. And I drive these for a living, I know they don’t have bathroom facilities that would meet the standards of being an “RV”.

All that being said, after 30 or 45 minutes of searching on the MTO websites and elsewhere I can’t seem to find any details on these exemptions any longer.

Can someone who’s been able to find them please provide me some hard factual links (preferably from the MTO) that I can provide this unfortunately misled fellow.
30' Keystone Cougar 5'er, Triple Bunkhouse, SuperSlide.
Chevy 3500 1 Ton long box crew cab dually
6.5 Turbo Diesel, 4.11 Rears, LSD, Fresh rebuild spring 2012.
Dieselplace.com Staff Member

Our 2008 western adventure - to the coast and back!

Mark
8 REPLIES 8

JaxDad
Explorer III
Explorer III
It must be done in steps, and pictures won’t cut it, you need to put the vehicle itself in front of them so they can verify that the converted truck and the VIN match up. I borrowed a buddy’s service (dealer) plate for the inspection trip, etc. then certified it after it was an RV.