Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Heavy Duty leveling block suggestions

joe_blow
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

I rarely use leveling blocks (under tires) but have had some opportunities where one side is a tad lower.

I have independent front jacks and the standard scissor jack that came with the CR3705 weekend warrior. I try not to operate the front jacks separate from one another as to not stress the frame. For the jacks I have been carrying the same 4x6 lumber pieces for 10 years and they have sufficed.

I have seen many variations of stackable blocks and to be honest, I can't believe these chinsy pieces of plastic hold up under the weight of some of these toy haulers I have seen them under.

What are some proven recommendations that some of you have used with success on the same weight trailer?

Thanks
Joe
15 REPLIES 15

nayther
Explorer
Explorer
deltabravo wrote:
joe blow wrote:
What are some proven recommendations that some of you have used with success on the same weight trailer?

Wood blocks. 2x8

I built some using 2x cross stacked, capped both sides with 1/2" plywood. The plywood won't split, just screwed them together. Makes about a 4" tall block. I cut them to the same size as the lego blocks so they all stack in the same location.

I also have an Anderson ramp type leveler, need a second. It works really well if the ground is gravel as it won't slide. We boondock in the desert most of the time and I try to get reasonably level before deploying auto level. Often have to put blocks under rear jacks as I've raised them up all the way for ground clearance.

Another is to get ahold of scraps from a construction site using composites, like OSB and Glulam, those products are pressed together and are super strong.
DIRT BIKES RULE

'12 Duramax CC short bed
2019 Wildcat Maxx 285RKX

ItsyRV
Explorer
Explorer