cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

AC Amp/Voltage monitor

icodeintx
Explorer
Explorer
Today I installed one of those "Amazon" amp meters. Mainly because I'm a pro at tripping the 30amp circuit. So I decided to install this thing so I can see my amps while different devices are running.

Lessons Learned:

The photo you see is actually upside-down. The meter is about 18 inches off the floor which is possible to bend down and see the numbers. However, the display range on the LCD is in the wrong direction for my application. This display was designed to be eye level or up high showing the numbers vividly. But when slightly above looking down one can only see a blank screen.

So smart me just turned it upside-down (for now) and when I bend over to look the numbers are actually right-side-up.

I love the monitor but don't really like the installation so I think I'll build a small installation box and mount the display inside the bench it is currently mounted in. Nevermind the unfinished bench. It is under construction.

Scott D - Desert Storm Veteran
7 REPLIES 7

MrWizard
Just a note:
DC power meters, amp meters etc..
Use Hall Effect sensor to detect direct current magnetic field, a solid state device

AC power meters use CT coils aka Current Transformers
Very old technology,
Alternating current is easy to detect and measure
For many years Direct Current could only be measured with a Shunt using voltage drop over the calibrated resistance,
Hall Effect sensors are not needed for measuring AC, i won't say they can't be used, or have never been used for measuring AC,
Usually pretty easy to tell them apart , small CT that might come with a meter we RV ers would use, normal have just two lead wires and either wire can go in either of the two connection points
They can look like a wrapped up wire coil, or they can be molded in plastic