Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Backing that trailer into a tight campsite..
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> Backing that trailer into a tight campsite..

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
kellem

Shenandoah valley,VA

View Profile

Posted: 06/22/20 08:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've had lots of experience backing 48 - 53 ft trailers but still let my wife out to watch and guide.
Be patient and get it right.

ksbowman

Kansas

View Profile

Posted: 06/22/20 08:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I guess I am blessed to have had a father who started me early at 8 yo backing a short tongued trailer with a riding lawn mower. More than once I have watched tortured souls trying to back a trailer in and asked if I could help. When I got a yes I would ask if they minded letting me drive. Usually I have backed it in on the first try. If I can drive in forward then, I can back it in. One time the wife's GPS on her phone took us into a residential area and after driving in with a couple 90* turns we came to a dead end. My wife said "What now? " then I backed our 30' fifth wheel all the way out.

wopachop

lb

View Profile

Posted: 06/22/20 10:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For me seeing the trailer tires in my mirror is critical. When backing up solo you have to see that gap between your tires and large objects you dont want to scrape into. There are times you will be blind. Its better to stop, put in park, walk out and see whats up. If people are honking because youre in the way just relax and remember being honked at is better than getting in an accident.