cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

West Coast of Florida

deejay41
Explorer
Explorer
What is the most scenic route to take to explore the West coast of Florida (Old Florida), in a motorhome??
Thanks
US Air Force (retired)
Tiffin Allegro Bus Class A
Cat Diesel Pusher
Blue Ox Aventa 2 w/ Brake Buddy
Dodge Dakota - Toad

Have Dogs-Will Travel
12 REPLIES 12

agesilaus
Explorer II
Explorer II
Arcadia, further east, is known as an antiques hot spot.

LOL that's news to me. I graduated from HS there and antique sales were just about unknown at the time. I've been back occasionally and the place is unrecognizable just about. One excellent activity there is canoeing on the Peace River from the Canoe Outpost. You can find lots of fossil sharks teeth when the water is low. I found a fossil gator tooth which aren't so common. The Myakka SP in between Sarasota and Arcadia is one of the best in the Florida Park system with a skyway (I think the call it) which is a bridge in the tree tops. They have more gators there than you'll see almost anywhere else.
Arctic Fox 25Y Travel Trailer
2018 RAM 2500 6.7L 4WD shortbed
Straightline dual cam hitch
400W Solar with Victron controller
Superbumper

Parrothead_Mike
Explorer
Explorer
We snowbird in Crystal River, FL. Taking US19 south of I-10 you will drive on an accessible 4 lane through a lot of forest and a few small towns. US98 heading east to US19/Perry would follow the gulf on the south side of the panhandle.

There are some interesting stops off US19 as you head south. You may want to take SR24 west to Cedar Key. It's a small town on the water. I bought a t-shirt there a few years ago that said: Cedar Key - Old Florida. It has been said Cedar Key is what Key West was like many years ago. There are a few RV parks along SR24.