cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery Charging Problem ***UPDATE***

whizbang
Explorer
Explorer
While dry camping in freezing weather, the charging system died for the dual type 24 house batteries (2002 Winnebago Mini).

It appears to be a solenoid system. It failed two years ago and the RV shop ran a new replacement wire "to tell it to charge".

I am going to fix it myself this time. (I am a ham radio operator and licensed general contractor, Tinkering are us). However, I have zero expertise in automotive charging systems.

My inclination too, is to remove the solenoid system and run a battery isolator instead. I had an isolator in my F350 twenty years ago and it worked great.

Comments or suggestions? I have no clue where to start, other than doing lots of homework...
Whizbang
2002 Winnebago Minnie
http://www.raincityhome.com/RAWH/index.htm
77 REPLIES 77

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Log,

I gave up on you when you insulted me. I won't be replying to you again. Thanks.
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

LOG
Explorer
Explorer
pianotuna wrote:
Log,

Why do you think I'm attempting to teach you anything? I don't see your name in any of my recent posts on the thread.

Maybe you need to go back and read your posts about "hydrometers" and "dancing on the head of needles", and how I determine fully charged.
LOG
2005 Chinook Glacier

time2roll
Explorer II
Explorer II
OK so measure what the alternator is putting on the house battery terminals after two hours. If you are less than 14.2 volts maybe the DC-DC booster would help to get a faster charge if desired. Until the issue is quantified there is nothing to resolve.

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Log,

Why do you think I'm attempting to teach you anything? I don't see your name in any of my recent posts on the thread.
Regards, Don