cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Driving With a Pop Up vs Hardside??

Dagwood_55
Explorer
Explorer
Currently drive a '18 Ford 350 LWB, SRW. What is the feeling between driving a 2000lb (OEM Wt) popup vs a 3000lb hardside?? Daylight and Dark?? Or something you get used to and then no big deal?? We do travel down NF roads, but nothing off road. Not wanting a white knuckle drive...

Thinking a Northstar 850SC popup vs a Northside Larado SC Hardside.

thanks
30 REPLIES 30

magic43
Explorer
Explorer
I have no either/or experience, but we have been traveling with a 2004 Outfitter Apex8 with no feeling of being compromised. We averaged 12.7 mpg during this past year's trip to Vancouver Is, Hyder, AK, & Jasper/Banff.
magic43

hedgehopper
Explorer
Explorer
For ten years we had a Phoenix popup, 1000 lbs dry, on a std cab, longbed Tundra. The combination drove like a dream. You had to look in the mirror to be sure the camper was still there. On occasion, we drove in 60 mph winds, the only problem being our fear that something might blow off. Other than a vent cover, nothing did.

Now we have a Northern Lite 10-2, 2500 lbs dry, on a longbed Dodge diesel dually. Highway restrictions have kept us parked in a Walmart lot during high winds. We are glad to have a dually, and we beefed up the Dodge front end to provide the stability we wanted. It drives fine, but doesn’t compare with the Phoenix and Tundra, especially on unpaved roads.

So why did we switch? Three reasons: (1) We wanted a bathroom, (2) we wanted a fridge with a freezer, and (3) getting on toward ages 70 and 80, we no longer relished raising the popup by muscle power. We could have switched to a heavier (and more costly) popup. But that would have required that we upgrade our truck too. Instead we decided to go all the way to a hardtop and a dually/diesel truck.