cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ford knox sensor

ACZL
Explorer
Explorer
Have other folks had issues w/ Fords Knox sensors? If so, did your dealer tell you why it failed or triggered a engine light? Mine is telling me it's being tripped by using aftermarket fuel additives which I find hard to believe. If that's the case, what are we supposed to do to prevent gelling in winter months?
2017 F350 DRW XLT, CC, 4x4, 6.7
2018 Big Country 3560 SS
"The best part of RVing and Snowmobiling is spending time with family and friends"
"Catin' in the Winter"
17 REPLIES 17

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
1. Any dealer who can’t spell the broken part name, be suspect of.
2. They don’t know what you put in the fuel tank. So if you told them, shut up and don’t tell them
3. High doses of additives could affect sensor readings. But I’m no expert. Does it go away if you stop putting the snake oil in?
4. You don’t need anti gel except in specific situations where you live.
A. If you got a tank of fuel from down south and somehow make it back to cold weather.
B. If you’re traveling somewhere where this same condition is possible in the winter. (It is possible)
C. If it gets significantly colder than the expected low temps for that time of year. (-20 in October. -40 in Jan type of thing)
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

ShinerBock
Explorer
Explorer
FishOnOne wrote:
ShinerBock wrote:
DownTheAvenue wrote:
ACZL wrote:
DownTheAvenue wrote:
Stop using the aftermarket fuel additives. You are told why your check engine light comes on. Diesel fuel already is formulated to prevent gelling right out of the pump. Isn't science amazing?

Try telling that to folks in areas where temps get down to -30 to -20.