Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tow Vehicles: Toyota Highlander and 26' Trailer
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Toyota Highlander and 26' Trailer

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Campfire Time

Wisconsin

View Profile

Posted: 10/04/19 06:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yosemite Sam1 wrote:

And he said, his trailer had tandem tires each side, so it's a lighter pull than single tire trailer because the weight is resting on the tires -- not the front of the trailer on the hitch.

It's seems logical and can't argue against since he said he is (was?) a Toyota mechanical engineer.

I'm not an engineer. And neither is he. This statement proves it. I'm also not stupid and he's blowing smoke. Tongue weight it tongue weight. Tandem axles on U.S. trailers don't reduce the tongue weight because of where they are located on the frame. They would if they were closer to the middle like European trailers. This is basic H.S. physics. Think "fulcrum" like a teeter totter.

Chuck D.
“Adventure is just bad planning.” - Roald Amundsen
2013 Jayco X20E Hybrid, 2008 GMC Sierra SLE1 Crew Cab Z71

drsteve

Michigan

View Profile

Posted: 10/04/19 08:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Never heard of an OEM that says "This vehicle can tow 5000 lb. But really we mean 6000 lb."
Smoke is being blown...

2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

View Profile

Posted: 10/04/19 08:25am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bert Ackerman wrote:

Not everyone is a candyass busy body with a PHD in towing dynamics like some on these boards.