cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

To Buy or build

way2roll
Nomad III
Nomad III
As conversations get serious about our plans to full time in the next 2 years DW and I have entered into a heated debate. Let me preface by saying this all started a week ago when we visited some friends who have built out a custom sprinter. Let me also say it was a phenomenal job but he's a custom cabinet maker by trade. It took him 2 years. That said his B has no bathroom, heat, AC, and a cartridge toilet, hardly what I am looking for in terms of a full time rig.

In any event, we are starting to think about the right RV for full timing. Let's ignore the DP vs Gas thing, DW is on a kick that we should buy a bus shell and build it out. I, however, and not sure that avenue makes sense. Her biggest complaint is not being green. Production RV's are full of VOC's, glues, stains, paints and a recycled bus is greener. I am not really arguing that but I am more concerned with reliability and a nice place to live on the road and my abilities to make it happen. I feel like a used RV a few years old has outgassed most of the VOC's and I can replace/modify finishes for greener products.

We already have a lot of constraints that inhibit this project. Our HOA wouldn't allow me to work on it in my driveway, I have skills, but I really think I lack the skills for a total build out (plumbing, tanks, electrical, framing, cabinets, etc) so I would be asking friends (states away) for help. I also have a full time job so it's not like I can work on it constantly. Add to all that, I don't think you are ahead of game really in terms of cost. I just see this being a thing that sits in a storage yard for 2 years unfinished. Suffice it to say, I am more about a production RV (used) with a concession on some mods.