cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hard wired surge protector

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer
Hello. So I'm considering a surge protector for next year. I'm leaning towards a hard wired version, Progressive Industries HW50C. However I have read that when they fail. You lose all power in the coach. Not sure as I'm new to surge protectors. Which brings up a question. Where would be the best place to wire it in? Sounds like at the panel is where it should be wired in. But if it fails I have no power. I was thinking if I wired it in before the ATS then if it did fail I would still be able to get power from the generator. I haven't ruled out an inline protector, but have read that when they do end up protecting the RV they cannot be repaired and need to be replaced.

This is all new to me, so please enlighten me!
Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!
22 REPLIES 22

chaffeekid
Explorer
Explorer
I cut the big 50 amp cord and installed a male plug on the short end from the RV, so I can plug into my Generator, you guys with auto switch don't have to. Then I can plug the short end into the progressive portable, the other end has a female plug wired and the progressive is plugged into that.
The portable sits in the electric bay out of the weather, and out of sight 🙂

MGySgt USMC(R) 61-91:)
N0LZS
Wife, has put up with me for 57 years :B
Amber, a Cockapoo, and Bambi a Hyper Chihuahua
2004 Winnebago Brave 34D, 8.1L 496cubes, Allison transmission, two Slides.

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer