Trailer Life Magazine Open Roads Forum: Should I put my Mobley SIM in another hotspot when parked?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Should I put my Mobley SIM in another hotspot when parked?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 08/31/19 09:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

log into your mobley at http://attwifimanager or 192.168.1.1

goto settings left hand column

goto mobile broadband

then click on SIM Security over in the main window

i think the default access code for a NEW unlocked SIM is eight ZEROS "00000000" no quotes

i changed the 'lock code' and then unlocked it, so i could move it back to the Mobley if the need arised

if it was locked and the netgear died, then it would not work in the Mobley

changing the lock code means ATT can NOT lock it

* This post was edited 08/31/19 09:59pm by MrWizard *


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


jcpainter

Crossville, TN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/06/2009

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 09/01/19 03:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MrWizard wrote:

i put my Mobley SIM into a NetGear hotspot wifi router

since it was already in the Netgear when ATT did their SIM lock stunt, it was not affected, and when i learned what was going on, i logged in and changed the lock code on the SIM from the default to one of my choosing, even IF i put in back in the MObley, ATT can not change it

the NetGear is superior to the Mobley, more range better signal etc..

i would read up on the unlocking of the MObley SIM, and get that done before investing $$ in something you might not be able to use


Excellent advice!

jcpainter

Crossville, TN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/06/2009

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 09/01/19 03:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wanderingaimlessly wrote:

GordonThree wrote:

Did AT&T finally get rid of the ridiculous stipulation that the service was for use in an in-motion vehicle only?


My understanding is that the Mobley was a "dumb"device, and ATT could not tell if you were using it outside the vehicle. The newer units being sold now, they can tell.


Correct, that's what I've read also.

magicbus

Nantucket Island, MA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2002

View Profile



Posted: 09/01/19 04:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Even if your SIM is locked just unlock it. See this post for step by step instructions.

Dave


Current: 2018 Winnebago Era A
Previous: Selene 49 Trawler
Previous: Country Coach Allure 36


ralphnjoann

Colorado

Senior Member

Joined: 10/12/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/01/19 08:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

magicbus wrote:

Even if your SIM is locked just unlock it. See this post for step by step instructions.

Dave
Does this process still work? Has anyone done it recently?

vermilye

Oswego, NY, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/11/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/01/19 09:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ralphnjoann wrote:

magicbus wrote:

Even if your SIM is locked just unlock it. See this post for step by step instructions.

Dave
Does this process still work? Has anyone done it recently?
I got the PUK codes (both of them) from an AT&T rep (over the phone) 2 days ago. Moved the SIM to a Nighthawk, went through the procedure to lock up the SIM, used the PUK code to unlock it & put in my own code.

The Nighthawk is a big improvement over the Mobley, although I'll keep the Mobley in a drawer just in case...

Another excellent tutorial on the problem & process is at the Technomedia site: Mobley Locked


Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
My Photo & RV link blog


Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/01/19 10:33am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You folks are amazing! Thank you so much!

Weirdly, I cannot access my Mobley either through http://attwifimanager or 192.168.1.1, although I have done so in the past. My Mobley is on and working. I am using it to post this.

I can call AT&T this afternoon, but I thought I'd just check first and see if you folks know what might be going on.


3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.


magicbus

Nantucket Island, MA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2002

View Profile



Posted: 09/01/19 12:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

About not being able to access your Mobley... May not apply, but when I am on my work VPN I can’t access my cell modem (my Mobley replacement) or my router. Are you by chance using a VPN?

Dave

jcpainter

Crossville, TN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/06/2009

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 09/01/19 12:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Naio wrote:

You folks are amazing! Thank you so much!

Weirdly, I cannot access my Mobley either through http://attwifimanager or 192.168.1.1, although I have done so in the past. My Mobley is on and working. I am using it to post this.

I can call AT&T this afternoon, but I thought I'd just check first and see if you folks know what might be going on.


Are you sure you're connected to the Mobley and not to another WiFi source?

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/01/19 01:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I'm sure I'm on the mobley, but pausing my VPN worked!

New problem. There is nothing called mobile broadband in the settings. The closest I can find is Network > APN > ATT broadband. That allows me to set a username and password, although there are not any preset ones. I'm not sure if I should do it, though, since I don't know if it is the thing you folks are referring to...

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Should I put my Mobley SIM in another hotspot when parked?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS