Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: RVCampsite only 30amp - can we run AC in the Class A
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > RVCampsite only 30amp - can we run AC in the Class A

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 09:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We're on 30A enough that I added a independent 20A circuit that can be plugged into the 20A pedestal plug. You could just run an extension cord through a window for say a coffee maker, etc.

This provides 30A+20A. A 50A pedestal supplies 50A+50A or 100A @120V.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


Johno02

Lexington, TN USA

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 10:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

WE do it quite often. One AC only, plus one other device such as a hair dryer or coffeepot. TV is usually OK. but like said, get a plug in voltmeter, and just watch it for low voltage.


Noel and Betty Johnson (and Harry)
2005 GulfStream Ultra Supreme, 1 Old grouch, 1 wonderful wife, and a grouchy, old, tiny dog


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 12:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Actually IMHO a 50A RV should have a PI HW50C power protector. A open or partially open 50A neutral will cause very high voltage and let the smoke out. My remote is inside and displays 10 different errors that cause it to shut down power. And it displays amps, voltage and frequency on any 20A, 30A or 50A pedestal plug.

mowermech

Billings, MT

Senior Member

Joined: 06/28/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 04:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our coach has two air conditioners.
It also has a 30 amp power supply cord.
We run both A/C units at the same time frequently..
We also have a selector switch so we can run either the water heater or microwave, but never both.
It works just fine.


CM1, USN (RET)
2002 Fleetwood Southwind 32V, Ford V10
Daily Driver: '06 PT Cruiser Turbo
Toad: '05 Wrangler Unlimited
Toy: 1999 Dodge QC LWB, Cummins, Auto, 4X4
Other toys: 2 Kawasaki Brute Force 750 ATVs.
"When seconds count, help is only minutes away!"

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 04:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mowermech has a valid point. Let's assume the A/Cs draw 12A so that's 24A or exactly 80% of 30A which is the NEC recommended 80% maximum sustained load. Are their other loads?

Running multiple high draw appliances can be a **** shoot for those that don't or can't monitor the amps or the voltage. Most RVers are aware of burned or overloaded 30A pedestal plugs which can be due to both user and owner maintenance.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/13/19 07:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The 2 differences between my 30A TT and my current 50A classA is one more AC and both have heat strips. The TT had an electric water heater and all the same 110 electric features as my MH.

So just run one AC and keep the water heater on LP.


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > RVCampsite only 30amp - can we run AC in the Class A
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS