cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Air Conditioner Performance

bsheet2
Explorer
Explorer
RV novice here. So please forgive any stupid questions. This may be one.

How well should the air conditioners perform during our high heat and humidity here is south Texas?? Yesterday had both units running. The MH was sitting in the sun, no shade. The rear was keeping things cool. But the front was not quite doing the job. Had all the shades pulled.

MH is a 2017 Thor Challenger 37YT. Front AC is Colman 15,000 BTU. Rear is a Colman 12,500 BYU.

Is it just too hot for the larger front area? Or has that unit lost some of its capability??
38 REPLIES 38

bsheet2
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for that info. I have detector installed. But I really like the stack! Will keep that on my wish list.

DFord
Explorer
Explorer
Groover wrote:
I believe that all motorhomes with generators should be equipped with a Gen-turi or equivalent and should have a functional carbon monoxide detector. I think that the detector is required in all new units now. I have heard of case where the carbon monoxide came from someone else's generator, so best to be prepared on the detector.

Gen-turi

X2! At rallies, the very least they could do is establish a separate parking area for those with the stacks.
Don Ford
2004 Safari Trek 31SBD (F53/V10 20,500GVW)
'09 HHR 2LT or '97 Aerostar MiniVan (Remco driveshaft disconnect) for Towed vehicles
BlueOx Aventa II Towbar - ReadyBrake Inertia Brake System

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
Expyinflight wrote:
bsheet2 wrote:
time2roll wrote:
bsheet2 wrote:
Actually the AC did better today. I started everything early in the morning and we minimized going in and out. It stayed decent in the heat of the afternoon.
I would never shut it off in TX heat. Let it cycle overnight and as the sun comes up it will run continuous all day.

Running on the genny. Don't have a 30 amp to plug in to. Prefer not to run the genny all night.