cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

AUDI Q5 for towing

oldbebo
Explorer
Explorer
Audi Q5 is rated for 4400 lbs has a 220 HP engine and I would like to tow one of the new lighter travel trailers. Thinking hummingbird 17RB dry weight 2890, RPod 189 dry w. 2792, Mini Drop WD1705 dry w. 2800, Or the one I like best and the heaviest Winnebago 1700BH AT 3010. I know it would be ideal to buy a truck but with the Audi would you just go with the lightest of those mentioned or does the extra 2 or 3 hundred lbs really make a difference. I have many years of towing experience 27 ft Airstream w/ ford F150 truck and 17ft. Casita with 6 cyd.nizzan frontier. Never had any problems with those.....Any trailers I am missing.
14 REPLIES 14

stcolfax
Explorer
Explorer
This is a great discussion but mostly theoretical. My experience is real. I bought a 2010 3.7 Q5 new and have a towed a 2900 lb (Unloaded weight) travel trailer over 10,000 miles, climbing mountains and rolling on freeways.

It is an awesome tow vehicle.

Advice:
1. watch the towing capacity (4400 pounds) and remember that everything you put in the trailer (fluids, food, campfire wood, etc) and everything in the Audi (including your butts in the seats can not exceed the dry weight of the trailer plus the weight of all this cargo. Yes, you count as cargo.

2. Stay in manual tiptronic mode. Yes you have to shift. There are 6 gears, Try to keep the RPMs in the 3000-400o range. max torque is about 4000. Revs are good.

3. Use a weight distributing set up on the high with leveling bars and a sway bar.

The 2018 3.0T which I just bought has 8 gears and about the same torque package. I expect the same performance.

Have fun. Be smart. Manage your load.

oldbebo
Explorer
Explorer
CARRINGB, Thanks for the article and very informative article. Iโ€™m still several months away from making any dicisions so all of this information helps a lot.

carringb
Explorer
Explorer
oldbebo wrote: