Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Suburban oven will not lite

marksar
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

I am new to the RV scene and I bought a used 2014 Forest River Flagstaff. The only issue I am having with it is the oven. When I turn the oven on and push the knob in I am getting absolutely zero gas into the oven itself. I took the thermostat out and lightly tapped on it and then I was able blow through the inlet and hear air coming out of the right side outlet. I reinstalled it and I'm back at square one. No propane ever enters the oven. Is there any other troubleshooting I can do or just shotgun a new thermostat at it and hope it works? Thanks.
8 REPLIES 8

marksar
Explorer
Explorer
Hey guys. It was newbie/user error. I did not know that you had to hold the lighter on the thermocouple to get the gas to start flowing. I held the lighter in that one spot for a little bit and what do you know, it works.... ?? Thank you for all of the replies.

D_E_Bishop
Explorer
Explorer
Marksar, try lighting the heater and or water heater, it usually speeds up getting gas to the oven.
"I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to go". R. L. Stevenson

David Bishop
2002 Winnebago Adventurer 32V
2009 GMC Canyon
Roadmaster 5000
BrakeBuddy Classic II

Edd505
Explorer
Explorer
Dick_B wrote:
I think most RVers use the stove for storage!

Not,it's for cookies, cakes, sticky buns, pizza, home made brad & rolls. You get the idea, wife loves cooking & baking.
2015 F350 FX4 SRW 6.7 Crew, longbed - 2017 Durango Gold 353RKT
2006 F350 SRW 6.0 crew longbed sold
2000 F250 SRW 7.3 extended longbed airbags sold
2001 Western Star 4900EX sold
Jayco Eagle 30.5BHLT sold, Layton 24.5LT sold

Dick_B
Explorer
Explorer
I think most RVers use the stove for storage!
Dick_B
2003 SunnyBrook 27FKS
2011 3/4 T Chevrolet Suburban
Equal-i-zer Hitch
One wife, two electric bikes (both Currie Tech Path+ models)

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad