Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: 50 AMP and plugging in at home
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > 50 AMP and plugging in at home

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/06/19 12:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

find a properly licensed electrician to do this for ya.
we ran a new wires to a box on the exterior wall of the house nearest the M/H parking spot.
It's on a circuit all by its self.


2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JL toad.

js218

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/14/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 12:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I own property in Nevada, Vermont and Pennsylvania all 3 have full hook ups all installed by licensed electricians.


2017 Haulmark 45' Super C 600hp, 12 speed I shift transmission, tandem drive axles, 3 stage engine brake, towing 26' trailer with an 08 explorer inside.
Jim

wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 12:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Timothy2001 wrote:

Thanks very much for the quick responses, a bit more complicated than I thought. I will likely have a 50 AMP breaker installed in the house panel wtih an appropriate recepticle.


This is the correct thing to do. You won’t regret it.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004

mtofell1

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 12/08/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 01:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Getting a full electrical service at home is a really nice thing to do/have done. I love being able to use my RV to the fullest even in the driveway (hell, even the "doghouse" isn't so bad when DW sends me there [emoticon])

Next step is to be able to dump tanks at home. This was a real game changer for me. No more waiting in line heading out of the campground on Sunday. No more making the kids "hold it" until we get home.

Timothy2001

Full Timing for Now

New Member

Joined: 06/02/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 01:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mtofell1 wrote:

Getting a full electrical service at home is a really nice thing to do/have done. I love being able to use my RV to the fullest even in the driveway (hell, even the "doghouse" isn't so bad when DW sends me there [emoticon])

Next step is to be able to dump tanks at home. This was a real game changer for me. No more waiting in line heading out of the campground on Sunday. No more making the kids "hold it" until we get home.


So is this a 'hostile integration' into the plumbing that goes out to the street assuming city sewage and not septic?

Very appealing to me too.


2008 Itasca Meridian 39z

WAFlowers

Clearwater, FL

Full Member

Joined: 05/11/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 01:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I installed a 30A outlet in my garage and have no trouble running one AC unit. With care (not starting them simultaneously) I can run two. Or I can run one and the fridge.


Bill and Willemina Flowers
George, Sammy and Teddy (the dogpack)
2008 Tiffin Phaeton 40QSH
2005 Keystone Monata 3400rl (5/21/11 to 9/9/17)
(Was in a 2000 Coachmen Catalina Sport 220RK)


pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 01:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No,

It needs to be #6 wire, not #10.

Executive wrote:

50amp service uses a minimum of 10ga wire, depending on the length of the run. Hire a licensed electrician....Dennis



Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/06/19 02:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Timothy2001 wrote:

Thanks very much for the quick responses, a bit more complicated than I thought. I will likely have a 50 AMP breaker installed in the house panel wtih an appropriate recepticle.
Yes very standard NEMA 14-50 connector, two pole 50 amp breaker, and 6/3 wire to connect. Slam dunk for any licensed electrician. Only thing that might run up the cost is pulling the wire depending on conditions.

http://www.myrv.us/electric/Pg/50amp_Service.htm


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 03:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 30A outlet on the front of my house when I had the TT. Never had an issue running the single AC. Now with the RV I have 2 AC’s I just make sure I only run one which is all I’ll ever need to run at home. I don’t have a residential fridge so that is t an issue. So far I don’t have a need for a 50A service. Maybe someday but not now!


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


twodownzero

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/19 04:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My ac runs fine on a 15 amp circuit as long as I use a good extension cord. Obviously I don't go trying to run the microwave and AC at the same time.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > 50 AMP and plugging in at home
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS