cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

240V from 120V generator

Groover
Explorer II
Explorer II
I would love to be able to use the 6KW quiet diesel in my motorhome as a backup generator at the house. One problem is that the house needs 240V while the generator makes 120V. I have not had good luck finding 120V to 240V transformers. I am not an electrician but I remember something about isolation transformers changing the phase of the current but I don't remember if it is 180 degrees which is needed to make to 240V or only 90 degrees. Anyway, is there anyone out there with experience on this that has a good solution? I would like to be able to supply 4kw at reverse phase in case the load is off balance in the wrong direction.
25 REPLIES 25

mikestock
Explorer
Explorer
You can run everything in your house that doesn't actually require 240 volts by joining the two home circuits in your jumper cable or by joining your circuits in the transfer switch. I use the second method and the only functions I live without are central air and clothes dryer. My range, water heater and central heat are all natural gas. I do have a supplemental, high efficiency, 10,000 BTU window AC that can cool a couple of rooms.

NRALIFR
Explorer
Explorer
“A totally separate rig only used during outages would require a lot of diligence to make sure that it runs when needed. ”

Probably true for a portable unit that uses liquid fuel, but I’ve been quite impressed with the reliability and minimal maintenance required on my home standby unit. I change the oil and filters once a year, and that’s it. The fuel (natural gas) is always fresh and available, and the fact that it’s totally automated is priceless. No extension cords, every critical circuit is powered by it, including the garage doors. We once came home from a long trip during a power outage and didn’t even realize the power was out until we got inside the house. :B

:):)