cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

RV width - narrower than standard

jjansen
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, my husband and I have been traveling around Europe for the last 3 years in our Class A Georgetown XL378. It is the standard 8.5' width with slide-outs. I would really like an RV, preferably Class A, that is narrower but still has slide-outs to give us plenty of room when camped. A narrower RV would work much better on many of the roads over here. Ideal would be just over 7'. With slide-outs our current living room is about 13' wide. I could easily give up 1.5' and still be very comfortable. Does anyone know of any models that are narrower than the norm?

Jackie Jansen
www.roadsaway.com
6 REPLIES 6

jjansen
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all, a couple of comments on the points above. First off, RVs in North America are phenomenally less expensive that European RVs and shipping is quite inexpensive. If I wanted to bring the RV back to North America then converting 220 to 110 is a problem due to wiring, it isn't an issue going the other way. More important to me than any of that is that Europe has never heard of slide-outs. I have heard a rumour that a company in Germany might(?) be starting to produce some. Going down to 7 ft with 5 ft worth of additional slide-outs is very livable, 7 ft on its on is not livable for full time, that is vacation only for me. All in all I really wanted my current class A with one foot or so chopped off the width. That would be perfect. I can live with my current RV here if I have to. I was actually considering having one RV on each continent in future. I have been in Europe for most of the last 3 years and haven't had any major problems but there have been a couple of countries where the width has been a little uncomfortable (but it has been worth it!). I will look at the class B as suggested. I still want it to be very spacious as it is my home.

Jackie Jansen
www.roadsaway.com

jjansen
Explorer
Explorer