cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Metal or fiberglass?

kilboar
Explorer
Explorer
Hello All, I'm actually new to travel trailers but have owed one for a few years.

I'm looking to upgrading from a 2005 33' Gulfstream Cavalier (FEMA) special edition:-) to something newer with a pop out. This will be a camper that I'll park and just use for bowhunting out of every 4-8 weeks in Central FL. I've got power, water and sewage set up at the camp area and just wondering if I should stick with a metal traveler or go to a Fiberglass shell in my search?

I've read the post on lighting strikes and thats making me think metal.
12 REPLIES 12

Jebby14
Explorer
Explorer
if you don't need it to move why not build it? kits are readily available. either do a pole barn and furnish a loft (if budget allows) or get one of those cabin kits. heck even a few sea cans.
Q: Whats brown and sticky???

A: A Stick....

Trackrig
Explorer II
Explorer II
Having owned both and having had very slight damage repaired to both skins, I would say fiberglass skins are easier to repair but they also fade worse in the sun which makes them about equal to me.

Keep the roof in good shape and you'll be fine.

Bill
Nodwell RN110 out moose hunting. 4-53 Detroit, Clark 5 spd, 40" wide tracks, 10:00x20 tires, 16,000# capacity, 22,000# weight. You know the mud is getting deep when it's coming in the doors.

rexlion
Explorer
Explorer
theoldwizard1 wrote:
The all fiberglass trailers are commonly called eggshells. Most tend to be small (some would say VERY small), butt they have a reputation they have a reputation of remaining leak free and longer lasting than almost any other style.
Going from a big fema to a tiny Scamp, now there's an interesting thought! But I doubt molded FG is what the OP had in mind.
Mike G.
Liberty is meaningless where the right to utter one's thoughts and opinions has ceased to exist. That, of all rights, is the dread of tyrants. --Frederick Douglass