Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Brand New Onan QG 5500 not turning

zoostory
Explorer
Explorer
Hey guys and gals,

Total RV newbie here. Living fulltime in a Thor Windsport 34R my wife and I purchased about 6mo ago.

I just tried to run our generator, just to break it in a bit, and it wouldn't turn over. I popped it open and primed the fuel, still nothing.

I then got worried cause we were still connected to shoreline power, so I unplugged the shorline, and now the lights wont even come on on the generator switch and the on switch does nothing???

I'm struggling to figure out what this could be? My wife said it worked when we first got the RV. I was out of town, and we had it in storage for a few months, if that means anything?

Our tank is just about 1/4 full.

Any thoughts are much appreciated!
20 REPLIES 20

zoostory
Explorer
Explorer
dougrainer wrote:
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
I then got worried cause we were still connected to shoreline power, so I unplugged the shorline, and now the lights wont even come on on the generator switch and the on switch does nothing???

seriously people, does not this paragraph camouflaged as a sentence NOT GIVE ENOUGH CLUES?

I am having fun following this...:)

AND, the OP has never clarified WHAT he means. Does the Genset TURN OVER at all? THAT would help narrow it down. But, he has NEVER answered this question. Doug

Genset was turning over for a while. Now it's not. Thanks for all the help guys, and glad I can entertain. I've called a professional to come take a look as this is out of my scope and I don't want to mess around with any electrical without proper knowledge!

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:

seriously people, does not this paragraph camouflaged as a sentence NOT GIVE ENOUGH CLUES?

AND, the OP has never clarified WHAT he means. Does the Genset TURN OVER at all? THAT would help narrow it down. But, he has NEVER answered this question. Doug

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer