Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Switch to 19.5" wheels & tires

swhunter
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,
I have learned a lot by reading in the truck camper forum here. I just recently registered to become a member of this site. It seems like there are some really interesting and knowledgeable people on this site. I have been around the RV life style a very long time. My folks were fulltime RVโ€™ers for twenty some years. I got into pickup campers in 1994. This is my first post; I am not very experienced at posting on the internet. Also I hope I am not beating a dead horse here since I know this subject has been here before. I just wanted to see what some of the people that have experience with SRW pickups and 19.5โ€ wheels, tires and heavy campers, think of my situation and the way I am handling it. I want to go to the 19.5โ€™ wheels and tires for the safety margin to gain with them.
I have 2000 Ford F350 with the 7.3 Liter Diesel engine, crew cab long bed, and single rear wheel pickup. In the pickup, I carry a 1992 Lance model 900 overhead camper that is for an extended cab or crew cab, which has an 11 foot 3 inch floor. I did put on the pickup the Rancho 2.5 inch level kit, which means it now has 4 leaf springs on each side of the front-end and it is double shocked and air bags on the rear axle. My pickup has 149,000 miles is still in good shape. As much as I would like to get a dually I donโ€™t see that happening for a long time. If I would change anything I would like to go to 9.5 foot camper. I have taken the pickup and camper to a scale to be weighed. I have the following weights:
The pickup by itself with a full fuel tank, but no passengers.
The pickup = 7,770 Lbโ€™s
The front axle = 4,560 Lbโ€™s
The rear axle = 3,230 Lbโ€™s

The camper wet weight, with everything in it full; water tank, propane bottles and everything needed to go on a long hunting trip = 4,770 Lbโ€™s.