cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Atwood furnace

jmcnulty89
Explorer
Explorer
Hey guys I’m new to this form I hope I posting in the correct spot. so my trailer has an Atwood 8531-IV-DCLP furnace that is not working correctly.
When I turn the heat on nothing happens so I open up the unit on the outside it’s getting power all the way to the little round looking relay on top of blower but only the top post is getting power.so I took the blue wires off and jumped power to there after 15-20 seconds blower turns on and will run but that’s will not ignite. So still no heat I don’t know where to go from there
It has a dual function thermostat heat and ac
10 REPLIES 10

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Relays are pretty generic for Hydro Flame and Atwood furnaces as you can see in manual.
May not be all the problems but good bet!

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

jmcnulty89
Explorer
Explorer
Yea the only way to get tha fan to come on is jump out the relay when i jump out the relay is there anyway to make the furnace ignite

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Power should come into the relay from the battery through a circuit breaker on fan housing then go to one side of the relay, the opposite of the relay goes to the fan motor.
Verify power on red wire from battery. Jumper the contacts on relay red wires. Fan should start Power and fan runs by jumpering means the relay is bad.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

jmcnulty89
Explorer
Explorer
I am sorry I did twist the two blue wires together and nothing happened. the relay I am referring to is the time delay relay it has constant power to top post bottom is to the motor and right side is ground left side is from the thermostat (these are the wires I cut and twisted together) the only way I can get motor to turn on is I jump out the bottom of the relay

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
You must connect the two blue wires together!