cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fleetwood Nitrous Radio Issues

freeriders98
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone, I am new to RV/Trailers and loving the Toy Hauler we just picked up. Its a 2007 Fleetwood Nitrous.

My only issue so far is that the radio is very finicky. The problem is that it won't run on just the batteries, not sure if that is standard or not. The previous owner told me it run off shore power or the generator.

However when plugged into shore power (110v 15amp) or on the generator, I am getting a very small amount of power to the radio deck and amp. like 2-6 volts. The volts slowly rise, and then the radio will eventually turn on. Nothing else has a power issues. AC will run, microwave works, etc.

I work on all my cars and motorcycles, but new to the trailer scene and not sure what this would point to. Does this just point to a wiring or ground issue, or something with the AC/DC converter going bad?

Any pointers for a newb would be much appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7

2oldman
Explorer
Explorer
What's puzzling to me is that if it truly is the batteries, then nothing else that requires 12v would work, like the refer or hot water.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

arhayes
Explorer
Explorer
It's not even necessary to pull the batteries initially. Just disconnect SP and put a meter on each to make sure you are getting at least a solid 6 volts on each battery, and then that you get 12 volts at the buss. I'll bet you are not. You probably have a weak/shorted cell on one battery and it is not delivering enough voltage to run the radio on battery only. It slowly builds on SP and Generator because the converter in delivering 13.5 volts and is able to deliver enough through the batteries to overcome the weak/lost cell. It may be giving less that 12v, but enough to overcome the low voltage cutoff on the radio.
Alan and Kathleen
2015 Grand Design Momentum 380TH (RVD2)
2014 F350 6.7L Diesel DRW (Stormtrooper)