cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Winter camping help

Rabiesbabies
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone, i'm very new to camping. Pretty much just want a toy hauler for the winter. But need help with some questions. I go out west snowmobiling in the winter,and I'm looking to get get a toy hauler so I can just pack up and go when I please. To my understanding I should find one with a winter package. But seems hard to find one I like used. Is it even possible to go out in the winter if I do not have one with a winter package? Also any other advice would help being I've never even been camping before. Thanks!
15 REPLIES 15

N-Trouble
Explorer
Explorer
I would invest in a new trailer.

30lb a day is plain crazy...
2015 Attitude 28SAG w/slide
2012 GMC 2500HD SLT Duramax
B&W Turnover w/Andersen Ultimate 5er hitch

Bedlam
Weekend Warrior and insulation are not words you use together unless you are the one adding it. We don't go to extremes to block out windows and vents because we needed the ventilation to keep down moisture and we like to be able to see out the windows rather than be in a dark box. I know there are people that are very frugal with resources and go much longer on the same, but we bought the RV for comfort and use it more like a second home rather than a lesson in conservationism. We camp with animals so even if we are away for most of the day, the RV is still heated or cooled for them when they stay behind. We're out about twice a month year round with many 3-night trips allowing for getaways while still working 40+ hours and commuting an additional 10 hrs each week.

Host Mammoth 11.5 on Ram 5500 HD

shum02
Explorer
Explorer
Bedlam wrote:
shum02 wrote:
GordonThree wrote:
30# of propane a day? That seems really high. What temperature is comfortable? Is this winter camping in the Yukon?

I guess maybe a TH looses a lot of heat via the garage door?