cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Tow Vehicle Advice Needed

BeerBrewer
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to RVing and I'm looking for our first travel Trailer. After looking at quite a few travel trailers I've come to the conclusion that I may need to upgrade my Pick-up Truck (2006 Tundra with 57K miles on it) because it can only pull 7000 lbs (minus tongue wt) and most of the trailers we like are either out us right at that 7000 lb limit or just over. So I'm now looking for a new tow vehicle. The new GM, Ram, Ford half ton trucks (properly equipped) all claim to be able to pull over 10,000 lbs and the 3/4 ton (250 or 2500) almost all can tow more, but are A LOT more pricey.

We "think" that we'll be buying a trailer that will put in the 7000 to 8000 lbs range, well within the capability of a 1/2 ton truck.

Should I go with a 1/2 ton or 3/4 ton truck? If so is it worth the extra cost?

Should I consider a diesel or stick with a gas engine?

Thanks
33 REPLIES 33

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
normal_dave wrote:
You mentioned sticker shock... (Me too).

Don't overlook a properly equipped Ram 2500 Crew Tradesman with the 6.4L Hemi. (This example advertised at ~ $ 37K at Warwick).
2018 Ram 2500 Tradesman 4x4

Edit: here's a better example at Branhaven in CT. ~ $ 38K. (trailer tow mirrors, brake controller, snow chief gives you anti-spin rear diff and clearance lights plus HD alternator).
2018 2500 Tradesman Crew 6.4L Hemi

A Tradesman with Chrome appearance group, and Popular equipment group is quite the value. 410 HP, 429 ft/lbs of torque on the 6.4L Hemi. Now I'd like the diesel as much as anybody, but I have to admit, the newer gas engines are making the decision on gas/diesel not quite as easy as it used to be.
2017 Ram 2500 6.4L Car and Driver review