cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Towing With A 460 Ford

F4Jock
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new at this so maybe I'm needlessly worried but. . .

Our 98 Tropi-Cal 33 footer is 460 powered. It burns no oil and the engine and tranny are in good shape but going up a relatively steep hill it downshifts and screams loudly, or maybe it's just that I'm not used to sitting next to the doghouse. My question: Does anyone have experience towing with a 460? Can I do so as long as I don't exceed the design specs? The thing is already slow as heck climbing a decent grade . . . .
Patti, Jack, our GSD Gunner the Wonder Dog and our multtude of cats.
1998 National Tropi-Cal on a 1997 Ford F53 chassis with 460 Ford power.
13 REPLIES 13

TropicalRV
Explorer
Explorer
I had a 97 32 ft Bounder with the 460 and towed my Toyota Corolla from Connecticut to Kalispell, Montana then down through Wyoming and Colorado. I had no problems. This is a very durable engine, but doesn't breath very well due to the intake and exhaust passages. As others have said, a Banks system will breath a lot of life into this, if you really feel the need and have an extra $3000 laying around. Otherwise, treat it gently and take your time. You'll get there. BTW, no more than every three years, have the whole brake system flushed and replaced with new fluid. Brake fluid is hydroscopic and absorbs water from the air. If enough water is in the brake fluid, it will boil when using the brakes hard and you will lose them.
Paul
2015 Tiffin Allegro 32SA, Ford V-10
2002 Honda CRV 2WD

tommy_g
Explorer
Explorer
I have the same engine as you. Just short of her 19th birthday, I rewarded her with a Banks Power Pack. It helps up the hills and getting off the mark. I still like to hear the fan cut in though. It makes the temp drop real fast. As someone said, coming down the hills can be a knuckle binder.
1998 Bounder 36s F53 460 V8 Banks power & Honda Accord toad

Dutch_12078
Explorer
Explorer