cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Placement of CO2 detector?

MTBob
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Northern Lite TC that has a carbon dioxide detector that has failed. It is mounted on the inside above the entry door. Instructions that came with the new replacement advise that since CO2 is heavier than air, that the unit should be placed near the floor.
I've been using the camper for over 10 years, and the old unit was installed above the door by the manufacturer of the camper.
The beds are located high in the TC, over the truck cab, slightly below the elevation of the detector.
I'm wondering - where do other RV's have their CO2 detector located?
Thanks
MTBob
Bob
2002 10-2000RR Northern Lite
2008 Chevy 3500 DMAX, SRW,
2001 Lund 1700 Fisherman
29 REPLIES 29

ljr
Explorer III
Explorer III
mobeewan wrote:
accsys wrote:
rk911 wrote:
ljr wrote:
CO2 is the good stuff that makes plants grow. CO kills people.

Why would anybody have a CO2 detector?

because it too can kill. internal combustion engine exhaust contains co2. think suicides in a vehicle. the OP had a truck camper...slide-in.

Again, you are talking about CO (Carbon Monoxide) not CO2 (Carbon Dioxide) which is the gas in soda water and all carbonated drinks.

And some fire extinguishers.

...and your breath.
Larry

2oldman
Explorer
Explorer
JimK-NY wrote:
We live in a society where we praise "common sense", where opinions are more important than facts and where scientists are viewed as absent minded eggheads.
x2

And if science ever makes a mistake, then nothing they say can be trusted.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

JimK-NY
Explorer II
Explorer II
We live in a society where we praise "common sense", where opinions are more important than facts and where scientists are viewed as absent minded eggheads.