cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

De winterize questions

Lemonhead78
Explorer
Explorer
First I want to thank everyone for all the help and knowledge I get from this site. It is appreciated. So here's a couple questions if you don't mind . Do I have to do sterilization process to the fresh water tank even if I've never used it before ? We bought it brand new a year ago and never used it . My second question is the hot water heater. We already unwinterized and camped already. Now getting camper ready for are next trip I here water sloshing around in hot water heater when I walk inside. Almost sounds like it's only half full/empty. Did I do something wrong ? Is this fixable ?
26 REPLIES 26

rbpru
Explorer
Explorer
I have two fresh water hoses. They are manufactured for use in transporting drinking water and are usually white with a blue strip or mostly blue. They can be used without imparting plastic compounds into water.

I have a separate wash down hose, just a common green garden hose used only for rinsing the stinky slinky and other TT clean up chores. As I mentioned when I fill my fresh water tank I use my home garden hose.

Us old hose drinkers know you let the well water run until it is cold and has flush all the crappy tasting plastic chemical out; then you can enjoy the unique flavor of very hard, rusty, deep well water; delivered through your home pump, pipes, tank and outside spigot. None of which has been chlorinated in recent memory.

That is the same water you cook and make coffee with every day. To shower it need to run through the water softner. That is life in rural Indiana.

Safe travels.
Twenty six foot 2010 Dutchmen Lite pulled with a 2011 EcoBoost F-150 4x4.

Just right for Grandpa, Grandma and the dog.

bobndot
Explorer II
Explorer II
Maybe I'm the odd one but I never trusted an RV water system without a whole house filter which I do not have. I use bottled water for drinking and cooking.