cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Broken stabilizer - am i expecting too much?

DM6156
Explorer
Explorer
Purchased 2018 Starcraft Satellite in February and took first trip this past weekend. After returning home Sunday, one of the rear stabilizers got stuck a few inches from the ground (would not go up or down), due to weather, decided to leave it until Tuesday. On Tuesday, after attempting to raise/lower to see what was wrong, the bar that connects tool to the threaded rod snapped - Now there is no way to raise/lower it - it must be removed.

Purchasing dealer will replace stabilizer under warranty- but here is my question/concern:

(1) I tow TT with stabilizer lowered - i'm not confortable with this option.
(2) I can remove the stabilizer myself , take it to dealer and they will swap it out under warranty. I go back home and install it myself - I'm now an RV tech! (Can I submit them a bill? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
(3) Starcraft will cover $50 or $125 service call (tech needs to call in to starcraft to get authorization to do any work - part covered, but I'm out $75 for warrrantied part.
(4) extended warranty will cover mobile tech, but only if part is covered - stabilizer is not in this case.
(5) I call roadside assistance, they tow with stabilizer down - I'm even more concerned about this option than myself towing as I've seen how some tow drivers operate!

I was expecting warranty to cover all parts and labor and for them to come to my home to do work since I can't tow unit to dealer.

Am I expecting too much?

My bigger conern is two fold:
(1) What about other 3 stabilizers?
(2) If this happened while not at home, I would not have access to tools to remove the stabilizer - and i'd be out money to fix a warrantied part and have no choice but to pay!

I am thinking in terms of auto warranties. If my new warrantied autmobile breaks down, manufacturer tows for free and covers all warrantied repairs for both parts and labor.

Dan
45 REPLIES 45