cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Windows Defender?

mr__ed
Explorer
Explorer
For quite some time I've been using Norton Security Suite on my Toshiba laptop. It was a good program and provided adequate protection. Well, the time came to renew my subscription and I decided to try the free alternative already built in to Windows 10, Windows Defender. I've been running it for a few months and so far I think it's doing a good job. Follow up scans with Malwarebytes haven't shown anything nasty that WD may have missed, except occasionally a PUP or some other non-important stuff.
So, I was wondering if other forum members who use Defender would chime in with their experiences, positive or negative?
Mr. Ed (fulltiming since 1987)
Life is fragile. Handle with prayer.

2007 Hitchhiker II LS Model 29.5 LKTG (sold)
2007 Dodge Ram 3500/6.7 CTD/QC/4X4/SB/SRW/6-speed man/Big Horn edition (sold)
15 REPLIES 15

Tom_M1
Explorer
Explorer
Rover_Bill wrote:
PC Tools was the best PC utility available in the mid 70's to find and repair them.
I think you are using the wrong term when you say PC. The first PC (meaning IBM Personal Computer) was introduced in 1981. Peter Norton introduced his "Norton Utilities" in 1982 which was a collection of DOS utilities none of which where any form of anti-virus.
Tom
2005 Born Free 24RB
170ah Renogy LiFePo4 drop-in battery 400 watts solar
Towing 2016 Mini Cooper convertible on tow dolly
Minneapolis, MN

Rover_Bill
Explorer II
Explorer II
TurnThePage wrote:
Which late 60's are we talking about here? LOL

Since you asked ... Both 60's. I started programming in 1965 in college on an IBM mainframe using FORTRAN, Pascal, and COBOL. In the early 70's I was the first U.S. Steel employee to use my own APPLE II computer (with a super fast 300 baud modem) to build mainframe databases from a remote field office and to train others in word processing (text) and spreadsheets.