cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

RV LENGTH

ckary72
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to RV's and don't own one yet. I read somewhere that a lot of campgrounds don't allow RV's longer than 30'

Is there any truth to this?
28 REPLIES 28

Veebyes
Explorer II
Explorer II
Short answer is no, not true. Length problems come with rigs 35 & longer. The longer you go the more the restrictions. Generally the private CGs know what they can accommodate & assign sites suitable to length i.e. they won't put a class B in a site that a 40' 5er needs.
Boat: 32' 1996 Albin 32+2, single Cummins 315hp
40+ night per year overnighter

2007 Alpenlite 34RLR
2006 Chevy 3500 LT, CC,LB 6.6L Diesel

Ham Radio: VP9KL, IRLP node 7995

troubledwaters
Explorer
Explorer
The facts are thus: The longer your trailer the less campsites you will fit in. The closer to the camping date you get, the less sites will be available that you will fit into. If you make your reservations 6 months ahead of time you will find a whole lot more sites available to fit you then if you make your reservation 6 days ahead of time. So like a lot of things in life, it's a trade off; you can get one or the other. You can please all of the people some of the time, but you can't please all of the people all of the time.

Tom_Barb
Explorer
Explorer
With a "good Sam's" road atlas, a cell phone it isn't difficult to call ahead to see if a camp can/will take you.

Barb starts about noon when we are traveling to see which camps near where we hope to be by end of day will/can take us.
2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JL toad.

2gypsies1
Explorer
Explorer
ppine wrote:
I am always surprised to hear people say things like "we never have trouble with our 40 foot motor home finding places to camp."

I guess we don't go to the same places. I run into places all the time where it is hard to fit a 25 foot trailer.