cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Selecting a 5th wheel hitch for my truck/toy hauler combo

Blk88GT
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2015 F350 Crew Cab Long Box SRW and will be pulling a 2008 Keystone Raptor 3712. I am new to 5th wheel hitches but not new to towing/hauling. My truck has the factory puck system.

I'm looking at the B&W Companion RVK3300, Reese 30142 and Curt 16034.

Are there any other hitches I should be considering or is there a reason to use one of these over the other? They're priced pretty close together, I just want to get the best hitch for the job.

I also don't know anything about "pin boxes" so if there is something I should know before I order a hitch, please feel free to jump in.

Any help would be appreciated!
25 REPLIES 25

Blk88GT
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you everyone for the advice. I brought the Raptor home yesterday for my dad and the hitch worked out great! I didn't have to remove my toolbox or mess around with anything. Hitch up and go! My truck did great and I had zero issues.

Next time I use it we'll be headed to Arizona!

slapshot12
Explorer
Explorer
brianpearce wrote:
I use an Andersen Ultimate Aluminum hitch attached to the gooseneck ball in the center hole since it is very easy to hitch/unhitch and only weighs 35 or so lbs.

I use an AUH as well and couldn't be happier with it. If I were to use a traditional hitch, it would be the B&W hands down. I looked at them all and was most impressed with that one.
'18 Momentum 349M
'17 F-350 SRW Lariat CCSB 6.7 FX4

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
If you followed the instructions on placement of the spring, it will keep the head level, to slight tilt back, to allow the pin to slide up onto the hitch, when backing under it.

The tool box will work, if you have enough clearance. Should be at least 6"s, but with TBX 8" inches would be better. You will know, once hooked up.

Jerry

Blk88GT
Explorer
Explorer