cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I have hot water?

bobkatmsu
Explorer
Explorer
I have a new to me, 2010 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. It comes with an on-demand tankless water heater. It has been parked the past week, hooked up to a 30 amp service. I have had both the electrical and propane switches to the water heater turned off. Just for the heck of it I turned on the hot water at a faucet and got...hot water. How does that work?
2010 Newmar Dutch Star DP
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
23 REPLIES 23

gonesouth
Explorer
Explorer
I've got to say thanks to Doug for taking the time and effort to figure this out. I like to think I'm an expert on Aquahots and I've repaired one that had been frozen and left as a box of parts, but I sure didn't see this one coming at the start of the thread.

Kudos, Doug!
Currently planning for retirement.....planning to build a small home in Nova Scotia for summers and someday year-round. Trying to sort out a good way to spend winters in central Florida as I can't drive anymore.

bobkatmsu
Explorer
Explorer
jorbill2or wrote:
It’s obviously that the oasis died as Doug said and they decided to save a few bucks putting in the precision temp in its place. You have a puzzle to figure out how they wired it .. hopefully with a breaker somewhere. Hydronic heat has registers that are normally in baseboard cabinets etc. I’d bet they used the oasis original ones and just plumbed them in.
Are you the second owner? If you are the guy who sold it to you was playing dumb.
yes, second owner.

jorbill2or
Explorer II
Explorer II
It’s obviously that the oasis died as Doug said and they decided to save a few bucks putting in the precision temp in its place. You have a puzzle to figure out how they wired it .. hopefully with a breaker somewhere. Hydronic heat has registers that are normally in baseboard cabinets etc. I’d bet they used the oasis original ones and just plumbed them in.