cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Smoking Pellets Question

magnusfide
Explorer II
Explorer II
I bought a Premium Pellet Smoker Tube for our rv travels. It's takes up very little space and I can use it on my Weber Q or grill for my DO and other culinary quests.

Now for the question. Do you have a recommendation for a good quality smoking pellet brand? I want something that doesn't have fillers.

This one intrigues me but I've never used one based on mash before.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074HKWLV6/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

SuperDave, any thoughts?
"The only time you should fear cast iron is if your wife is fixin' to hit you with it."-Kent Rollins
First law of science: don't spit into the wind.

Magnus
9 REPLIES 9

mowin
Explorer
Explorer
All pellets are not created equally. The bag will state 100% hardwood, but there actually 60% filler woods like alder or oak, and 40% flavor wood. Technically, they are 100% hardwood, but a little deceiving.

Cooking pellets and lumberjack (I'm sure there's more) offer 100% flavor wood pellets. If the bag says hickory, it 100% hickory. Definitely makes a difference in smoke flavor.

I use about a 1/2 ton of pellets a yr, and I've tried many brands. I really like CP, and lumberjack.

mkisamore
Explorer
Explorer
bbqers delight lots of choices

Super_Dave
Explorer
Explorer
Iโ€™ve tried 10 ways to Sunday to post a pic on this site and canโ€™t get it to show.
Truck: 2006 Dodge 3500 Dually
Rig: 2018 Big Country 3155 RLK
Boat: 21' North River Seahawk

magnusfide
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thanks everyone! SuperDave, I couldn't pull up that Maze test link but I'll do a search and see if I can't find it somewhere.
"The only time you should fear cast iron is if your wife is fixin' to hit you with it."-Kent Rollins
First law of science: don't spit into the wind.

Magnus

dons2346
Explorer
Explorer