cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Motorhome

awesomeman
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone I have a 25ft minnie winnie class c motorhome. I really love it and use it often. Since I am new to this stuff I have some basic questions concerning storage. I live in south florida so no need to winterize. More just protect against heat and humidity.

When my rv is not in use, please give me pointers to protect it.
Obviously its under cover with wheel and winshield covers.

-How long is the water in the tank good for.( How much clorox do you use)
-How do you drain the fresh water tank
-how do i protect house and car batteries. Do I plug into 15 amp with adapter or have an electrician install 30 amp.
-should i run a/c year round or put a dehumidifier in.

Those are just for now, but Im open to any and all pointers! I really love this thing and want it to last.
9 REPLIES 9

Dusty_R
Explorer
Explorer
The only time we sanitize our fresh tank is when it's new, we have our own well water. We only drain the fresh water tank is in the winter when it will freeze.
Our first mh was new in '89. We are now on our 3rd one.

Dusty

kwright
Explorer
Explorer
Does anyone know of a good storage facility for a motorhome near Navarre beach, florida

maillemaker
Explorer
Explorer
-How long is the water in the tank good for.( How much clorox do you use)
-How do you drain the fresh water tank
-how do i protect house and car batteries. Do I plug into 15 amp with adapter or have an electrician install 30 amp.
-should i run a/c year round or put a dehumidifier in.

I drain my freshwater tank after every use. I pull all 4 drain valves and open all faucets so there is no vacuum lock and the system drains completely. I do not even use the air blower fitting to "blow out" the water as it never blows anything out as the system is well designed and the water runs out from gravity alone.