Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hitch for a Pop Up Camper

oil8390
Explorer
Explorer
HI,
I am new to the Trailer towing world, I am going to be purchasing a pop up camper very soon, I just have a couple of questions. I already have a towing package in my truck ( 2015 Chevy Silverado 1500) I am not too sure which hitch to buy? do I need a weight distribution? and also do I need sway bars? Any feed back would be great

Thanks
J
22 REPLIES 22

Adam_H
Explorer
Explorer
Pack it correctly, drop it on the ball and tow it. No WDH or sway bar needed.
Adam
2007 Fleetwood Avalon HW PUP
2001 Excursion 6.8L V10 3.73
2005 F150 5.4L
Gone but not Forgotten: 1971 Trailstar PUP, 2002 Fleetwood Wilderness Northwest Edition, 2002 Keystone Bobcat 280-EB

xteacher
Explorer
Explorer
I don't think you need a WDH, but I definitely would have a sway bar installed.
Beth and Joe
Camping Buddies: Maddie (maltese/westie?), Kramer (chi/terrier?), and Lido (yellow lab)

2017 Keystone Bullet 248RKS
2014 Aliner Expedition Off Road
2013 Ram 1500 HEMI

patperry2766
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 3500 lbs high wall pop-up. I use the receiver hitch that came with the factory tow package, no weight distribution hitch or anti-sway control. I have personally never had a problem that would warrant either of there.

The factory mirrors on my F-150 work fine for seeing to the back of the camper, I suspect the mirrors on your Chevy will be more than adequate.

Once you get the camper, there are some things that I would strongly recommend getting. The first are PUGS(www.popupgizmos.com) They are solar bunk end covers that block the direct heat from entering the bunk ends. The second is Reflectix ( Home Depot or Lowes). Cut the reflectix to fit inside the zippered windows of the bunk ends.