Motorhome Magazine Open Roads Forum: 1000w inverter install
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 01/08/18 07:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

i have a GoPower 300w, and it is wired for a remote switch

i only use 2.5 amps at 12v to power the laptop

for the 32" vizio TV its only 3 or 4 amps more

less than 100w total

DVD player uses a few more , but not much


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


judelaurenzo25g

Downey, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/09/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/08/18 08:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MrWizard wrote:

i have a GoPower 300w, and it is wired for a remote switch

i only use 2.5 amps at 12v to power the laptop

for the 32" vizio TV its only 3 or 4 amps more

less than 100w total

DVD player uses a few more , but not much


What model is it? Did you make your own remote switch? What gauge wire and fuse do you have inline?


A ship in harbour is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.


MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 01/08/18 10:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

300w
8ga wire, less than 3 ft in each leg. less than 6ft total
pluug on the front, you can buy one or make one, simple toggle and two wires
main switch says on off remote

[image]

https://www.amazon.com/Go-Power-GP-SW300-12-300-Watt-Inverter/dp/B001539BCE

Dusty R

Charlotte Michigan 48813

Senior Member

Joined: 04/05/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 08:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Check the wall wart on the end of the TV's power cord. Most convert 120 volt ac to 12 volt dc.

judelaurenzo25g

Downey, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/09/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 08:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dusty R wrote:

Check the wall wart on the end of the TV's power cord. Most convert 120 volt ac to 12 volt dc.
How will this help me?

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 08:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dusty R wrote:

Check the wall wart on the end of the TV's power cord. Most convert 120 volt ac to 12 volt dc.


Do they sell these TV's anymore?

The last dozen or so I've purchased of all sizes from 19 up to 80 inch, none came with an adapter cord

The 120 volt line cord goes directly into the tv.

A dozen TV's you ask? Yes, I buy a lot of them at work. Probably closer to two dozen in the last three years.


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2017 Ram 2500 4x4, 6.4 HEMI, 4.10 / Auto

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 09:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

judelaurenzo25g wrote:

Dusty R wrote:

Check the wall wart on the end of the TV's power cord. Most convert 120 volt ac to 12 volt dc.
How will this help me?


The idea is you could cut the 120v plug off and instead, attach a 12v accessory plug. Eliminating the need for inverter.

If you DO have a 12v tv, this is the easiest way to go.

I've never seen one, not to say they don't exist. They're just not sold in the markets I deal with I guess.

judelaurenzo25g

Downey, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/09/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 10:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

judelaurenzo25g wrote:

Dusty R wrote:

Check the wall wart on the end of the TV's power cord. Most convert 120 volt ac to 12 volt dc.
How will this help me?


The idea is you could cut the 120v plug off and instead, attach a 12v accessory plug. Eliminating the need for inverter.

If you DO have a 12v tv, this is the easiest way to go.

I've never seen one, not to say they don't exist. They're just not sold in the markets I deal with I guess.


Well, this probably wouldn't work for me even if I could find one. I would have to do the same for the DIRECTV receiver and the satellite power.

pauldub

North of Seattle

Senior Member

Joined: 11/01/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/09/18 10:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here's one with a remote switch.

JTLance

Salem, Oregon

New Member

Joined: 03/10/2017

View Profile



Posted: 01/09/18 11:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator



I use the one that is bigger by them and its been flawless.

the larger model

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS