cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

house battery install, basic

Mako_Kupo
Explorer
Explorer
hey guys, I'm back! I've dug through forums and other resources, but cannot find a direct comparison to what id like done. I restored a '79 ford class C (E350 chassis). it was really poorly rigged and quite dangerous when I bought it, I had a mechanic go through it and bring me back up to code and safety standards. this included disconnecting the house battery from the alternator for some reason.. I'm no mechanic. the reason was everything was being run off the starter+house battery in parallel, there was zero options to turn one off, the other, or both. it was both batteries, all the time.

now, its ready to have power again. I purchased an 85ah flooded deep cycle a Duralast 27 series, its dual purpose but for me will work great. I only need 150w output at any given time. what id like to do is charge both batteries while driving/engine running, and be able to turn off the starter battery manually, or automatically though I've heard the automatic ACRs will kill your battery in about a month if left sitting. I've heard conflicting information about this, and. really need it cleared up. I only need 150w because it will be charging my goal zero yeti generator at 150w, and everything else runs form the yeti(for now).

is this a good option? is it as simple as it seems? connect starter battery to one side, house to other, and be done with it? if thats the case, its perfect. https://www.bluesea.com/products/7610/SI-ACR_Automatic_Charging_Relay_-_12_24V_DC_120A

or should I do a manual switch, and if so, basic disconnect between battery A and B? or a 4 position?
62 REPLIES 62

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
I found this thread helpful in understanding how my 1991 "alternator charging" works and how to improve the under-hood set-up. I have changed a few things on mine accordingly.
1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI